The perpetually testy words of Star Trek’s Doctor Leonard McCoy

 

McCoy_experiencing_cordrazine_frenzy star trek

Star Trek’s Leonard McCoy was quite the character in a cast of quite the characters.  Played by DeForest Kelley, Doctor McCoy or “Bones” as Captain Kirk called him, always seemed a little put out; kinda like your testy but lovable old Grandpa.   He was a self-proclaimed  “just a country doctor” who made complaining a pop culture art form.

Doctor McCoy was always the perfect foil to Spock. I loved their banter. Bones getting all riled up and Spock’s dispassionate eyebrow raising.

 Here are some of Leonard McCoy’s infamous sayings.

I give you...

The perpetually testy words of Star Trek’s Doctor

Leonard McCoy 

“What am I, a doctor or a moon-shuttle conductor?”

“My dear girl, I’m a doctor. When I peek, it is in the line of duty.”

“I don’t know, Jim. This is a big ship. I’m just a country doctor.”

“What do you mean what sort of work? I’m a doctor.”

I’m a doctor, not a bricklayer…to which Kirk replies, “You’re a healer, there’s a patient. That’s an order.”

“I’m a surgeon, not a psychiatrist!”

“I’m not a scientist or a physicist, Mr. Spock.”

“Look, I’m a doctor, not an escalator.”

“I’m a doctor, not a mechanic.”

“I’m a doctor, not an engineer.”

“I’m not a magician, Spock, just an old country doctor.”

“I will not peddle flesh! I’m a physician.” “I’m a doctor, not a coal miner!”

“I’m not a mechanic, Spock…”

“I’m a doctor, Spock … a doctor! Get us beamed aboard!

star trek nn

Related Unreality 
DeForest Kelley 1 - Spirit in the Sky

One thought on “The perpetually testy words of Star Trek’s Doctor Leonard McCoy

Comments